Nominate now for the National Disability Awards


The 2015 National Disability Awards are now open, giving Australians the chance to acknowledge the many people, organisations and initiatives across the country that make a positive impact on the lives of people with disability.

Federal Member for O’Connor Rick Wilson MP said the awards help build awareness of disability issues and showcase important work throughout the community, enabling people to fully participate in work and society.

“I encourage people everywhere to put forward a person, organisation or initiative in their community that deserves recognition,” Mr Wilson said.

“This year the awards are looking for nominations that demonstrate great community initiatives.”

Awards will be presented in six categories:
• Lesley Hall Award for Lifetime Achievement in Disability
• Emerging Leader in Disability Awareness
• Excellence in Accessibility – Technology
• Excellence in Accessibility – Community
• Excellence in Choice and Control in Service Delivery
• Excellence in Advocacy

To nominate for the National Disability Awards visit or call 1800 672 682. TTY users please call 1800 555 677 and ask for 1800 672 682.

Nominations for the National Disability Awards close on 4 September 2015.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in the Great Hall, Australian Parliament House in Canberra on 25 November.

Now in their ninth year, the awards are an integral part of the Australian Government’s celebrations of the International Day of People with Disability on 3 December.


Join our mailing list