Funds for 13 young sportspeople


Across the O’Connor electorate 13 young sportspeople have been successful in gaining a $500 grant each through the Australian Government’s 2014/15 Local Sporting Champions program.

Federal Member for O’Connor Rick Wilson congratulated Jonty Richardson from Lower King, John Murray from Albany, Melanie Baldwin from Jerramungup, Rose Pearce from Boulder, Tenae Browning, Tasmyn Taurima, Zion Taurima and Emmett Hoycard from Kalgoorlie and Connor De Campo, Tayla East and Sam East from Manjimup on their success.

The programme provides funding for athletes, particularly those from regional areas, to meet the ongoing and significant costs associated with participation at sporting competitions,

“It is hard enough for athletes and officials living in regional areas to participate in events at a high level let alone fund their travel to training and competition.

“This funding in particular helps junior athletes more easily pursue their sporting dreams,” Mr Wilson said.

The grants help cover the cost of travel, accommodation, uniforms or equipment when competing, coaching or officiating at an official national sporting organisation (NSO) endorsed state, national or international sporting championships or a School Sport Australia state or national championships.

The Local Sporting Champions programme is an Australian Government initiative for athletes aged between 12 and 18, participating as an athlete, coach, umpire or referee.

The next round (Round 2 2014/15) is now open and closes on 31 October 2014. Information on the Local Sporting Champions program can be found at


Join our mailing list