Skip to content





868, 576

Square Km's

66, 075


The electorate of O'Connor covers an area of approximately 868,576 sq km from the Gibson Desert in the north to Albany in the south. The main locations include the City of Albany and the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder, and the regional centres of Bridgetown, Collie, Denmark, Esperance, Katanning, Laverton, Leonora, Manjimup, Mount Barker, Ravensthorpe, Wagin and Warburton.

There is a variety of industries across the electorate including grain, sheep, cattle, tree farming, fishing and aquaculture, vineyards and winemaking, gold, nickel, talc and mineral sands mining, farm stays and tourism.

The electorate is named after Charles O'Connor 1843–1902, Engineer in Chief of Western Australia (appointed 1891). Charles O’Connor designed Fremantle Harbour and the pipeline which supplies the Wheatbelt and the Goldfields with water.



I was inspired to run for Parliament following my involvement in a decade-long campaign to deregulate the wheat industry, which brought about the end of the Australia Wheat Board’s monopoly.

“I stand proudly for the Liberal philosophy of free markets, vigorous competition, small government and individual responsibility. These are the principles that guide me in my life and in this place. My track record in public life shows clearly that I am prepared to stand up for those principles.”

“To the electors of O'Connor, I reiterate the commitment that I have made to work tirelessly on your behalf, to always be frank and honest about the challenges we face, and to work cooperatively and collaboratively to improve the lives of the people who live in the greatest part of the greatest nation on earth”

– Rick Wilson MP Maiden Speech.